So Much Life

 

We—————ll, it’s been a hot minute. And I mean HOT. And let’s scratch the minute. It’s been more like two weeks.

Highlights:

– This past Saturday, on the 9th, just a fraction of our typical CRC was available. It was only three of us that were able to go. But God was oh-so-present that night. Not only did a sweet little baby get plunked in my lap first thing, but I had an amazing conversation with the women about the products we’ve been making; there were also two very unique key chains submitted to me, and those sparked new ideas! So cool!!

Lovin' these streets

After that conversation, I tried asking what I could do for them. What it was that we as a crew could be doing to serve them. God kept saying “wrong question”. It wasn’t working. They kept mentioning their physical, material needs. And then I realized that I just needed to stop asking, and start doing. I realized that my question was putting me and the rest of the crew on a “we have something to give, we have something you need” level, when in reality, it may be that we need something from them. We need to understand their culture, their lives, and their dreams. We need to TALK to them, ENGAGE with them in their daily lives, instead of trying immediately to change those individuals and their lives for the “better”. Thanks for the wisdom and discernment, Holy Spirit!

– I was having a rough day at the office, and my colleague brought in her little punkin’, who is only about four months old (picture not provided for privacy/newborn status reasons). Stop it. Too cute. #daymade

– The skin on my face has cleared up from my cyclical battle with acne. Grateful, since my compact powder shattered in my purse and I had to pitch it. Ivory-colored makeup might not be easy to find around here. Haven’t tried yet…

– Got a letter from my sweet Bryce today! Flat Stanley and I are going to have some wonderful adventures! I was literally jumping up and down with excitement having received this!!!!

WIN_20160414_013928

– One of my students gave some really great feedback on some of the Honors material I’ve put together. *Super* encouraging.

– Had the chance to WhatsApp with my best friend from first grade, as it was her birthday on the 11th. Was so excited to be able to touch base with her!

– So many beautiful people pouring into my life this week.

Lows:

– Managed to royally disrespect my immediate superiors in a terrible move during an office forum with a US partner. Wrong time, wrong place to address specific things, especially within my current cultural context. Yikes. Meeting with the center manager, regional manager, and co-owner of the company as a result… not to mention a personal apology letter to the head of the company. Whoever said life isn’t a learning curve, if anyone ever said that… well, they lied.

– It is freakin’ toasty in India right now. We’re in the mid-90s (later today is forecast at 95), and it’s only going to get hotter in a few weeks. I’ve heard May is the worst… which means our electric bill will go up even higher (this is not as bad as it could be, as we HAVE air conditioning – last year, a great many people died because of the heat here. Can’t complain – it’s just a happening to deal with).

Temperature History – Apr 14 (Celsius)

Today Normal Record 4/14/2015
High 35° 31° N/A 32°
Low 25° 24° N/A 23°

– Been struggling with a personal issue for the last few months. Battling with both the Lord and the Enemy at intervals these last several days… And let me tell you, neither one is really someone to enjoy picking a fight with, even with the Sword of the Spirit.

– Apparently, I’m REALLY allergic to mosquito bites, or whatever bites these are. This red spot from this morning is now much less inflamed, thanks to some medicine a friend gave me, but it’s now two inches wide in diameter…though this doesn’t really bother me as much as the half-shut eye I had several weeks ago from some other malicious insect.

Bug bite...

– Had a sensory breakdown last week. Couldn’t handle the noise, the smells, the staring, the begging. It was so overwhelming. I wept on the train, snapped at a woman trying to push through the jam-packed car to try to get off at the same stop as me. I’d just had it. After that, I still had to catch and take a rickshaw home accompanied by horn honking and engine motor roars to my apartment, conveniently located right next to one of the busiest, loudest intersections in Bandra. ::epic sigh::

A few more highlights, just for kicks and giggles! Well, and to show that even those lows have been redeemed!!

– Thankfully, the meeting with my superiors was very fruitful, and will hopefully result in some majorly different dynamics from here on out. I know that I, for one, will handle certain things in a far better manner than before said get-together.

– I’m getting used to these crazy trains!!


– This battling season has made me stronger as a believer. Several months ago at worship night, the Lord asked me to put on my armor. I’m coming to actually do that a little late – I’m a little slow on the uptake sometimes – but I’m doing it. And it’s amazing. I will stand on truth, and I am already victorious!!! Yay Jesus. Amen?!

– While the electric bill has gone up significantly, I’m still paying less at this apartment than I did at the old one. Silver linings!

– Belated birthday presents came in the mail this week. So I’ve just downloaded some great music to my new MP3 player, which I can take on the trains with me and not have to worry about using up a ton of my phone data trying to deal with sensory issues. I also got Phillips extra bass headphones and one of the two books I asked for… more on that later, perhaps. The other book should be on its way. Thanks, Mom!

– Being so hot all the time makes fresh coconut milk so delightfully refreshing!

First coconut day!.jpg

About ShatteredGlass

Crazy lady on a mission to change the world, one starfish at a time (if you haven't read the story, you can check it out here: https://eventsforchange.wordpress.com/2011/06/05/the-starfish-story-one-step-towards-changing-the-world/). I previously lived in Mumbai, India, and was working with a core team to minister to children living in a local slum. I now reside in Benton Harbor, MI, where I teach in a small, inner-city Christian school, and hope to make an impact in the lives of some pretty special young people.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Bandra, children, Decisions, Dream Big, education, expat, Expat Life, expatriate, Expatriate Life, experience, exploration, faith, family, Friends, God, Growth, Happy, India, Journey, Learning, Life, love, Maharashtra, ministry, Mumbai, Mumbaiker, new experiences, outlook, Perseverance, poverty, Prayer, Reflections, Revelations, Sensory Processing Disorder, teacher, travel, Uncategorized, World Travel, Youth ministry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment